An ending and a beginning

Yesterday, Barb broke the sad news to us.

It meant so much to have an Australian magazine.  It was made of articles written by people I knew, like Bella Head, talking about yarns and fibres that are available to me locally, and the content changed as our seasons turned. 

 The experience was blissful compared to that of reading a US or UK magazine.  While they’re still interesting, they are full of the frustrations of retailers that can’t/won’t/don’t sell outside the US (or UK), articles about fétes and fairs we can’t attend and heavy coats and jumpers in the middle of our summer.  This is on top of the ever-present translation issue.  I’m so used to converting yards to metres and ounces to grams that I scarcely notice.

As much as I enjoy a magazine like Interweave Knits, it feels like I’m reading a letter to someone else.  As I read there’s a strong undercurrent of ‘that doesn’t apply to me’.

And now Yarn is gone.  No one is interested in taking it on.  Having a magazine of our own?  Maybe it was too good to be true.

Good things don’t have to come to an end.  It’s just that they frequently do, and no-one cares enough about the ending of crap things to make a saying about it.

In order to console myself, I’ve placed an order with Bendigo.  (It wasn’t too long ago that they didn’t have a website.  I wonder if their expansion into online territory has proved lucrative for them?)  I’ve ordered yarn for a couple of projects, including the Pretty as a Peacock shawl.

Click the link.  Marvel at its beauty.

I would really like to finish my Christmas knitting before I cast on, and I will be aided in my resistance – not so much by my will power as by my plan to dye the yarn peacocky shades of blue and green myself.  I’m still a little hesitant about dyeing, so I’m not likely to start splashing colours around the minute the yarn turns up.  I will wait.  I will consider.  (I will try to get my Christmas Knitting finished.)

But the pattern is so very lovely, I may not be able to avoid breaking out the dye pots.  I think that I probably deserve to cast on at the first opportunity.  (What UFOs?)  I haven’t quite decided whether or not to join the knit-a-long.  I haven’t ever done one because I start so many projects that it takes me a very long time to get one finished.  I’m not sure if I’d feel under pressure to get it completed ASAP, and I’m not sure if that would be a good thing.

The KAL is being run by Ailsa (aka Knitabulous), from Woollongong, and I feel that I’ve run across her somewhere before…possibly in the comments section of the Yarn Blog.

Maybe it’s just the high emotions of the moment, but I feel as though we Australians are few, and ought to stick together.

~ by dreadlordvellan on November 13, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
