…A traveller of both time and space

I did post about this on the other blog, but really, it belongs here.  Double-blogging.  Seems so inefficient.

 But it is important.  What is more important to a spinner than the purchase of a new wheel? 

Traveller

Meet my new Ashford Traveller.  It was purchased on eBay, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it’s in really good condition.  It’s not without drawbacks, however.  It is single treadle (which I knew already) and using a single treadle makes my bad knee hurt.  So I’ve ordered the double treadle kit.  It’s also got an old 2-speed flyer, so chances are that I will order a replacement (modern 3-speed) flyer in fairly short order.

Another drawback is that we don’t have room for three spinning wheels.  (At least, not until I get my studio.)  The large unknown wheel has had to go to make way for the Traveller.  I’m okay with that.  The large unknown wheel was, frankly, a pain in the arse if I used it so it sat collecting dust.  I now have two wheels that I can use, and even better, the bobbins are interchangeable.  Nifty.

 It’s a big deal because I can now spin two separate projects at once!  Okay, I’m not likely to do that a lot, but still, flexibility is always a good idea.

 And the dirty alpaca in my laundry?  It’s still dirty.  I’ve lost count of the number of washes it has had, but it’s still dirty.  I think that the mesh bag fails.  Time to try something else.

~ by dreadlordvellan on February 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
