My Choctaw Name


winterberry sock yarn
Originally uploaded by Vellan

…is Spins Too Thin.

Not that I am the thinnest spinner I have seen, not by a long shot. But I pretty much always spin thinner than I am aiming for.

This was meant to be 5 ply/sportweight/14 wpi. Although I used 3 plies (and in point of fact, I usually make a 3 ply yarn – it’s a cheat to make it thicker and plus you get better stitch definition) it’s only a 4 ply/fingering weight/16.5 wpi. (WPI calculated as average from 3 different points along the length of the yarn.)

So, bugger. This means that I won’t be using it for socks. I may use it for mittens.

I have to go away and spin the other 50g, and hope that I can maintain some consistency.

It is too thin, but I take some comfort in the fact that at least I’m close.

(ETA: The dirty alpaca fleece is having a time out.  I don’t want to see it’s face right now.)

~ by dreadlordvellan on March 2, 2008.

One Response to “My Choctaw Name”

  1. Why don’t you shoot for 8ply? Then you’re sure to get 5!

Leave a Reply

 
